iNSiTU Housing Legacy Trust

Register Now

Thank you for your interest in the iNSiTU Housing Legacy Trust. Please complete the form to be the first to find out when registration for the trust opens.

Frequently Asked Questions


Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA) refers to housing for participants within the National Disability Insurance Scheme, which assists with the delivery of supports that cater for extreme functional impairment and high support needs. Traditionally these housing solutions have involved group homes or nursing homes, which don’t allow individuals to gain independence and can negatively impact the quality of their life.

SDA providers work with building and funding partners to provide SDA housing and connect with potential residents (also called participants) who require specialist housing. As an SDA provider, iNSiTU Housing assists with the delivery of supports for residents – from our housing projects to the relationships between residents and service providers.

According to the NDIS, there are 4 categories in the SDA Design Standard, which is a detailed set of requirements for all new specialist disability accommodation:

  • Improved liveability
  • Robust construction
  • Fully accessible
  • High physical support

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS/Scheme) is able to fund support for SDA for some participants who meet strict eligibility criteria.

Under the NDIS, SDA and SIL refer to very different things. Specialist Disability Accommodation, also known as SDA, is specially designed disability housing for participants with high physical support needs. Supported Independent Living, also known as SIL, refers to services that assist individuals to live independently within SDA homes.